Authentic Online Professional Profiles

Discuss the ways in which an authentic online professional profile can be developed

93% of recruiters plan to use social media to support their recruiting efforts according to Jobvite. This obviously shows that it is really important to build an authentic online professional profile, and this blog post will discuss the ways to do this. We already spend 4 hours a day online so lets make it count.

Multiple Social Media Presences

 Last week my blog addressed the advantages of having more than one online identities BUT something I failed to mention is that, do you really need to be on EVERYTHING? This video sums up how I feel nicely:

The video speaks about being clear with yourself, asking yourself:

  • Who am I trying to target (an audience or employers).
  • Where do my targets hang out online?

Once you know who your social funnel is you can properly prepare your social media presence. Which therefore enables you to engage with others in a more professional authentic manner online.

An interesting point Amy makes, which I’m sure many will disagree with me on is that: it is better to have a few profiles that you fully engage with than lots that you have average engagement on. James O’Reilly Co-founder Financial Adviser at Verse Wealth states that posting on social media is like having a megaphone and your posts are reflective of yourself. He states that authenticity is crucial online in the professional world. Therefore, this goes hand in hand with Amy that it is better to be authentic on a few sites than average on many.

Why bother with online presences? Here’s why:

  •  Blogging shows dedication and motivation makes you different to employers. Who else posts a blog every week?
  • As mentioned in my previous blog, LinkedIn can find you work. 94% of recruiters use LinkedIn to recruit workers.
  • Joshua Waldman a writer from “For Dummies” states that you will be Googled anyway so why not manage the information about you online?

It can go so terribly wrong… 

  • Tom Daley back in 2012 suffered abuse by Twitter user: Rileyy_69 after coming forth in the men’s synchronised swimming in 2012. Rileyy_69 was arrested over these tweets, the BBC have the arrest story here. This video was one of the many reaction vidos that appeared, here it called him “vile and disgusting”
  • Justine Sacco posted a horrendous tweet that “ruined her life” full story here.
My Tips for being Online in the Professional World. Picture created with: http://www.picmonkey.com/

My Tips for being Online and Authentic in the Professional World. Picture created with: http://www.picmonkey.com/

2. Psychology Tricks 

Studying Psychology is very interesting and helps, especially when dealing with people.  Here are some Psychology Tricks to keep in mind when developing an online profile for authenticity.

PicMonkey Sample

Some Tips I’ve Learnt from Psychology! Picture was made with: http://www.picmonkey.com/

Sources (By Appearance)

9 comments

  1. hannahdevenish · November 11, 2015

    Hi Hollie, I really liked reading your blog this week. I especially enjoyed your video — I know you said many will disagree with you but I completely agree that it’s better to know who your target audience is and what social media platforms they use. As Amy says, it’s not worth it to be mediocre online. I do wonder though, do you think social media is essential to building an authentic online profile?

    After watching your video I read this article about how social media can actually ruin your business, which is also something I discussed on my blog. The article talks about the amplifying power of social media, and how complaints about a business online can have a huge effect, thanks to this effect. Despite this, the benefits of social media in business definitely can’t be denied, and I like the positive outlook towards social media that you’ve written.

    http://www.forbes.com/sites/julietbarbara/2012/11/11/is-social-media-bad-for-business/

    Like

    • Hollie Kinch · November 12, 2015

      Hi Hannah,

      To answer your question, yes I do think SOME social media accounts are essential to building an authentic online profile, but not all social media is. I think this because once you have too many accounts you lose the time you can commit to each of them. Here http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/244677 is an article that lists different social medias and what it can do for a “brand”. What ones do you think are the most important for authenticity?
      I like the article you linked and I completely agree “one size does not fit all” when it comes to social media! Thank you for your comment.

      Hollie

      Like

  2. whatkatieisdoing · November 11, 2015

    Hi Hollie,

    I’m glad you made the point about how many social networks we should be on! I have recently found myself signing up to more social networks and not fully committing to them, and I am worried that this will reflect badly on me if an employer stumbles across a, for example, tumblr account under my name that only has 2 boards with a few pins on them, one being ‘tattoo ideas’, hardly relevant to my professional life. Now I think about it, it’s probably a more sensible idea to delete this tumblr account until I get a chance to dedicate the time to learning about how to use this tool. Which social networks are you personally active on and do you consider all of them to be an ‘authentic’ representation?

    Thanks for the interesting video!

    Katie

    Like

    • Hollie Kinch · November 12, 2015

      Hi Katie,

      These are the accounts I have that I’m active on: Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, about.me, LinkedIn and Pinterest! I also have a Tumblr account that I no longer use so I should really consider deleting that as well! What accounts both active and inactive do you have?

      I’d like to think all of my accounts are authentic representations of me! Although saying this, there is a theory in Psychology which states that we use different versions of our “self” in different situations (read more about that here https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/theory-knowledge/201404/one-self-or-many-selves) so I guess you could argue that my LinkedIn self is very different to my Facebook self. I would like to think this can be explained by the different aims the websites serve for me. Facebook I use socially whereas LinkedIn I use professionally! Do you consider all of your accounts authentic versions of yourself? Thank you for your comment

      Hollie

      Like

      • whatkatieisdoing · November 16, 2015

        Hi Hollie,
        I use twitter, facebook, about.e and linked in. I also have pinterest and tumblr which I should definitely delete too as I don’t use them and it would be a shame if a potential employer stumbled across them. I agree with you totally in that I see my accounts as authentic at the same time as representing different selves! Thanks for the link!
        Katie

        Like

  3. Chris Renwick · November 11, 2015

    Hi Hollie,

    This was a good read! As a Psychology student myself, it was definitely interesting to see some elements of psychology brought into the mix at the end, and it was cool that you actually made your own pictures to help get your points across (and I imagine it also helped keep your word count low, keeping that in mind for the future).

    I think the point about companies and brands communicating more intimately to a smaller audience is a good one. I know that I, for one, tend to cringe a lot reading some social media posts by big companies especially when they try to be cool or latch on to big trends, and it’s much nicer to read a genuine twitter feed from a company rather than one which sounds fake and corporate. An example I’ve found is the official twitter account for the Sonic the Hedgehog video games, which seems to be run by a single person and who engages with his followers frequently, sharing their in-jokes and general culture and generally being friendly with the fans of the series, rather than coming off as though he’s trying to sell stuff to them. This definitely reflects what you’ve said in your blog, and it’s an approach that I hope more companies take

    Like

    • Hollie Kinch · November 12, 2015

      Hi Chris,

      Our degree creeps into all concepts of life doesn’t it! Definably try and make your own pictures to keep word count low, https://www.picmonkey.com/design was really easy to use and you don’t have to sign up!

      I cringe as well with big social media companies, for me it’s much better to have engagement at a lower level. Thank you for your comment,

      Hollie

      Like

  4. Pingback: Reflecting on Authentic Professional Profiles | Katie Comments
  5. Pingback: Topic 3: Reflective Summary | Hannah Devenish

Leave a Reply

